Who We Are

We are a K-12th grade charter school in Hunting Park, Philadelphia. We believe in creating hope in our community through quality education. We pride ourselves in preparing our students for success by developing their interests through tailored programs in our majors, academics, clubs, and sports.

In 1987, Esperanza, a community development organization located in North Philadelphia, was established with the purpose of strengthening Hispanic communities. At the core of its mission, both then and today is education – the key to empowering communities to improve their conditions. Esperanza believes that education positions individuals and families to become economically stable and lead healthy, productive lives.

Esperanza Academy Charter School offers a quality education that prepares critically thinking, socially capable, spiritually sensitive and culturally aware young adults who can use English and Spanish while providing an academically rigorous, yet flexible, online learning program that tailors learning experiences to each child.

Sharing our Middle School Building, we are proud to offer our students access to ECEU, Esperanza College of Eastern University, a branch campus of Eastern University and the only Hispanic Serving Institution (HSI) in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. Esperanza College of Eastern University is a two year federally recognized Hispanic serving institution offering Associate’s Degrees in Accounting, Community and Human Sciences, Early Childhood Education, Business Administration, Criminal Justice and Middle Level Education: Math and Science. Esperanza College was recognized for excellence in Hispanic higher education as Education Champion of the Year (Hispanic Choice Awards, 2010), as an Example of Excelencia (Excelencia in Education, 2013).

Board Members

Rev. Luis Cortes Jr.
Ex-Officio Board Member
lcortes@neacademy.net

Mr. Angel Ortiz
Board Chairman
aortiz@neacademy.net

Rev. Roger Zepernick
Board Member
rzepernick@neacademy.net

Ms. Carmen O. Torres
Board Secretary
ctorres@neacademy.net

Ms. Carmen Rocha
Board Treasurer
crocha@neacademy.net

Ms. Asdrey Irizarry
Board Member
airizarry@neacademy.net

Rev. Rosa M. Martinez
Board Member
rmmartinez@neacademy.net

Ms. Nancy Santiago-Negron
Board Member
nsantiagonegron@neacademy.net

Ms. Wanda Carlo
Board Member
wcarlo@neacademy.net

Mr. Miguel Ramirez
Vice Chairman
mramirez@neacademy.net

Mr. Tony Payton Jr.
Board Member
tpayton@neacademy.net

Menu